Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
ALMA perce le brouillard des premières galaxies
22 July 2015

    Tu t’es déjà réveillé-e avant le lever du soleil pour voir qu’il y avait beaucoup de brouillard dehors ? Et quand le soleil s’est levé, le brouillard s’est dissipé très rapidement ? Eh bien, il s’est passé quelque chose de semblable dans l’Univers peu après sa formation.

    À l’époque de la formation des premières étoiles et des premières galaxies, l’Univers était rempli d’un épais brouillard de gaz d’hydrogène. Mais les premières galaxies de l’Univers étaient remplies d'étoiles énormes qui diffusaient une lumière ultra-violette (UV) très forte. (La lumière UV est le type de lumière qui donne des coups de soleil.) Cette lumière UV de très forte intensité a fini par dissiper le brouillard, tout comme le Soleil le matin.

    C’est quelque chose que nous savons déjà concernant les débuts de l’Univers. Ce dont nous savons peu de choses, ce sont les premières galaxies. Jusqu’à maintenant, nos télescopes ne les voyaient que comme des taches un peu floues, comme sur la photo ci-dessus. Mais aujourd’hui, la vision surpuissante des télescopes d'ALMA commence à faire changer les choses.

    Les yeux aiguisés d’ALMA peuvent photographier les galaxies avec bien plus de détails qu’auparavant. La forme orange au centre de la photo est un nuage de gaz cosmique datant d’il y a très longtemps, photographié en train de devenir une des premières galaxies de l’Univers !

    Des observations pareilles aideront les astronomes à découvrir comment se sont formées les premières galaxies. (Pour savoir comment les astronomes peuvent voir dans le passé, clique ici.)

Cool Fact

    Les taches floues sur cette photo sont des objets qui existaient il y a plus de 13 milliards d’années !

Share:

Images

ALMA Peers Through the Fog Surrounding Early Galaxies
ALMA Peers Through the Fog Surrounding Early Galaxies

Printer-friendly

PDF File
916.8 KB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
ALMA Peers Through the Fog Surrounding Early Galaxies
22 July 2015

Have you ever woken up before sunrise and seen that it was very foggy outside, but then the Sun came up and quickly burned the fog away? Well, something similar happened in the Universe when it was very young.

Back when the first stars and galaxies formed, the Universe was filled with a thick fog of hydrogen gas. However, the Universe’s first galaxies were full of huge stars that gave off very strong Ultra Violet or UV light. (UV light is the type of sunlight that causes sunburn.) This strong UV light eventually cleared the fog, just like the morning Sun.

That is something we already know about the early Universe. What we know little about, are the first galaxies. Up to now our telescopes have only been able to see them as very faint blobs, as shown in the picture above. But now the powerful vision of the ALMA telescope is starting to change this.

ALMA’s powerful eyes can photograph the galaxies with much more detail than we’ve seen before. The orange shape at the centre of this picture is a cloud of cosmic gas from when the Universe was much younger, caught in the middle of becoming one of the first galaxies in the Universe!

Observations like this will help astronomers to investigate how the first galaxies were formed. (To learn how astronomers can see into the past, click here.) 

Cool Fact

The fuzzy blobs in this picture are objects that existed over 13 billion years ago!

Share:

Images

ALMA Peers Through the Fog Surrounding Early Galaxies
ALMA Peers Through the Fog Surrounding Early Galaxies

Printer-friendly

PDF File
916.3 KB