Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Супергерой Солнечной системы
20 July 2015, Samara

В Солнечной системе Юпитер самая большая планета. Гигантская планета в два с половиной раза массивнее всех остальных планет нашей Солнечной системы вместе взятых. А большей массе соответствует и большая сила притяжения. С такой гравитацией, которой обладает Юпитер он выполняет роль защитника жизни на Земле.
Помните удары астероидов, которые уничтожили динозавров 65 миллионов лет назад? И не было бы Юпитера, таких столкновений было бы больше. Эти разрушительные столкновения могли бы даже помешать человеческой жизни зародиться!
Но к счастью для нас, гравитация Юпитера отвлекает большинство комет и астероидов, которые могли бы двигаться в направлении Земли. По этой причине наряду со многими другими, астрономы думают, что солнечные системы, подобные нашей являются наиболее вероятными местами, где можно было бы найти жизнь.
К сожалению, мы нашли много солнечных систем с массивными планетами, которые лежат близко к своей звезде, но не так много, которые лежат далеко, так как Юпитер. Потому что планеты, которые находятся далеко от звезды очень трудно обнаружить.
Тем не менее, астрономы нашли планету такого же размера, как Юпитер, и которая вращается вокруг звезды похожей на Солнце. Ее орбита приблизительно находится на таком же расстоянии, как и орбита Юпитера.
Это дает нам надежду, что там может существовать инопланетная жизнь, которую спасает такой же супергерой, как и наш Юпитер!
Интересный факт
Юпитер – планета-гигант. Там свирепствуют ураганы уже в течение сотен лет!

Share:

Images

Our Solar System’s Superhero
Our Solar System’s Superhero

Printer-friendly

PDF File
834.9 KB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Our Solar System’s Superhero
20 July 2015

Jupiter is our Solar System’s very own superhero. The giant planet is two and a half times more massive than all the rest of the planets in our Solar System combined. And with great mass, comes great gravity. With the power of super-strong gravity, Jupiter plays a heroic role in our Solar System, protecting life on Earth.

Remember the asteroid impact that wiped out dinosaurs 65 million years ago? Without Jupiter, many others could have struck the Earth throughout human history. These destructive collisions might even have prevented human life from ever starting!

But luckily for us, Jupiter’s gravity diverts most comets and asteroids that could head towards us on Earth well before they reach us. For this reason along with many others, astronomers think that solar systems similar to our own are the most likely places to find alien life.

Unfortunately, we have found lots of solar systems with massive planets that lie close to their star, but not so many that lie far away, like Jupiter. That’s because spotting planets that lie further out in the darkness of space is much trickier.

However, astronomers have just found Jupiter’s doppleganger — a planet the same size as Jupiter that orbits around a star like our Sun. It also orbits at about the same distance from its star.

This finding gives us new hope that a solar system just like ours might exist, and alien life might exist there, partly in thanks to its very own life-saving superhero! 

Cool Fact

Jupiter might be our superhero, but it’s no gentle giant. The planet is covered by ferocious hurricanes that can rage for hundreds of years!

Share:

Images

Our Solar System’s Superhero
Our Solar System’s Superhero

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.0 MB