Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Что-то новое на небе!
25 March 2015, Samara

В 1670 году некоторые астрономы стали знаменитыми. Глядя на ночное небо, они стали свидетелями яркой вспышки, которой ранее никогда не наблюдалось! После изучения этого явления они назвали его Новая (которое просто означает что-то новое на небе) и оно получило обозначение Nova Vul.
На самом деле Новая – это мощный взрыв, который заставляет звезду мгновенно становиться намного ярче обычного. На фотографии вы видите остатки от взрыва Nova Vul!
Вам может быть интересно: какая разница между новой и сверхновой? Обычно Новая составляет двойную систему из белого карлика (http://www.unawe.org/kids/unawe1254/ru/) и обычной звезды вращающихся друг вокруг друга.
Белый карлик стягивает материю с соседней звезды до тех пор, пока это возможно. Затем он взрывается как Новая, разбрасывая горячий газ в пространство. Но, в отличие от сверхновой звезды, когда она разрушается, Новая выживает после взрыва.
Через 300 лет после появления Новой Лисички, астрономы вновь возобновили ее изучение. Оказывается, что это вспышка не была Новой!
Астрономы считают, что это было гораздо более редкое явление в природе, а точнее столкновение двух звезд! Звездная авария была настолько бурной, что она вызвала взрыв обеих звезд с выбросом вещества в окружающий их космос.

Новые факты

Сверхновые выбрасывают обычно вещества столько, что из него можно сформировать целое Солнце и светят они в 10000 раз ярче Новых!

Share:

Images

Something New in the Sky!
Something New in the Sky!
Something New in the Sky!
Something New in the Sky!

Printer-friendly

PDF File
926.2 KB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Something New in the Sky!
25 March 2015

In 1670, some of the greatest astronomers of the time were stargazing. While staring up at the dark night sky from their homes all over the world, they were startled to witness a bright point of light appear in the sky where there had been none before! After studying the new star, they decided it was a nova (which just means “something new in the sky”) and they named it ‘Nova Vul’.

A nova is powerful explosion on a star that causes it to instantly become much brighter. You can see the remains of Nova Vul in this space photograph!

You might be wondering: what is the difference between a nova and a supernova? Well, a nova happens when a white dwarf and another star live in the same system, orbiting around each other.

The greedy white dwarf sneaks material from it’s partner and eventually it takes so much material that it can no longer hold itself together. When this happens it suddenly explodes as a nova, shooting hot gas into space. But, unlike a supernova when the entire star is ripped apart, with a nova the star survives the explosion.

Now, 300 years after the appearance of Nova Vul, astronomers have a new clue about this cosmic mystery. It turns out this ancient light wasn’t a nova at all!

Instead, astronomers can now reveal that it was something much rarer and more brilliant – a spectacular collision between two stars! The stellar crash was so violent that it caused one star to explode and material from inside both stars was spewed out into space. 

Cool Fact

A supernova normally shoots off enough material to make an entire Sun, which is 10,000 times more than a nova!

Share:

Images

Something New in the Sky!
Something New in the Sky!
Something New in the Sky!
Something New in the Sky!

Printer-friendly

PDF File
968.8 KB